Reading Assignment 11/23

Can we talk about how today’s date is the first 4 Fibonacci numbers? In 44 years it’ll be even more exciting.

We have the whole week off for Thanksgiving, so I’ve mainly been sitting on my couch playing iPhone games, but I have also been catching up on reading.

News

Dyslexie, a font designed to be easier for people with Dyslexia to read.

TIME Magazine is trolling us again.

Selma looks like it’s going to be great, and useful for teaching about voting rights and the civil rights movement.

Resources/ Ideas

Flowchart proofs with a secret office-supply weapon! This is a great idea. Honestly, last year I abandoned geometric proofs entirely and did only algebraic proofs – proof by induction and proof by contradiction. A downside to having total curricular freedom is that I sometimes abandon useful topics I just can’t think of a good way to teach. This year I want to re-include this type of proof and I’m always looking for ways to make it actually work.

Card Colms are magic tricks involving mathematics – a parent shared this with me recently. Seems pretty cool.

Math scavenger hunt on the national mall! As a math teacher at a school that goes on weekly field studies, this is the definition of perfection. If I end up using this I will surely blog about it.

Leave a Reply

