Reading Assignment September 14th

After a solid week of teaching, let’s take a look at what else is out there in the world of education.

Autistdar
Like “gaydar,” only for people on the spectrum. This is another interesting first-person perspective about autism and what it means to live in the same world as everyone else but see things differently. I was nodding and seeing my kids in this piece, even though at the same time, I feel like I’ll never know enough about autism.

Shit My (Non-Biological) Kids Say About Race and Gender
While this article was from the perspective of a teacher of much younger children, I have absolutely observed similar from my students. There is so much that our students don’t know, and race/ethnicity in particular is such a blind spot because it is often considered a taboo topic. That definitely can’t be the case if we want to live in a more equitable world.

Ideas Taking Shape: Geometric Inspiration
This is a great reminder that math – in particular geometry – can be beautiful and playful and accessible to everyone. Who doesn’t need “a daily dose of Euclidean-based pleasure”?

Crappy Fiskars Compass Fix
I am so excited to see if this works for me!

The Day I LOST It Doing Homework With My Kid
What purpose are these homework assignments serving?

The End of Britain?
I’m not linking to this because it’s about education (it’s about Scottish independence), I just think that the graph is a great representation of inverses!

That’s all I had time to get to – be back soon!

 

Leave a Reply

