Summer Reading August 20th

Secretly, I’m a little excited that summer is going to be over soon.This is the first time since I turned 16 that I didn’t have a job over the summer, and I feel like a less-than productive member of society right now. I know this will soon change, however. I did seize this opportunity to visit the Great Lakes, which are glorious in August. Here’s Lake Superior at Pictured Rocks:

053

So this will be the last of the summer readings for this year, but I want to keep this going throughout the year!

Developing the Question & Why Students Don’t Like MathDaniel Willingham’s book Why Don’t Students Like School? was required reading in my Education Psychology class. He has a lot of great insight about how to ensure students are invested in inquiries and thinking about things in a way that encourages real learning. If you don’t have time to read the whole book, read his twitter exchange with Dan Meyer.

The Teen Who Woke Up Her School
Our school, for reasons based on science, begins at 9:15. I’m encouraged that more schools are taking this research into consideration!

Teaching is Not a BusinessDavid Kirp’s New York Times op-ed points out that the most important factor in a child’s education is having a supportive environment and relationships with important adults. He is critical of reformers without an education background trying to apply ideas from other fields. The piece drew borderline-vitriolic criticism from a former department of education official, if you want the opposing view. The tendency for reformers to quash dissent rather than enter in a dialogue with educators does not help their arguments.

Fun With Food Trends
I’m always on the look out for interesting, real data to share with students, and this has some good stuff. I’m particularly interested in the two graphs about pants. This article and Daniel Willingham’s suggestions could combine quite nicely.

And Open Message to the Teachers of Ferguson
Alyssa Hadley Dunn, a professor at Michigan State University (at a time like this, it’s not appropriate to disparage my alma mater’s in-state rival so I won’t say anything) reminds us that all this started with the death of a very recent graduate. To echo her sentiment, my thoughts go out to anyone who taught or knew Michael Brown, and all residents of a shaken community. Stay safe.

Compton School Police to Soon Be Armed with AR-15s
What. Reminds me of this. And also this.

Leave a Reply

