Arts and Sciences Festival

Every year at HGS we celebrate the arts and sciences with this event. It’s a great opportunity for the community to come together and admire the work of our students. Because what we’re doing here is so unique, we have a wonderfully supportive community of parents, families, former staff, board members, friends, and I suppose anyone reading my blog. What up, community member!

I also showed off some stuff that I use in class just because it looks cool and I’m proud of it. A classic example: the table of non-Euclidean Space. You can read about what the students did with these fuzzy/round objects herearts5

As you can see, presentation is crucial. Black tablecloths make this look like it’s basically in a museum and not some weird lumpy things I crocheted over the summer, although that’s what they are. Check out that super fuzzy one, isn’t that great?

The rest of the displays were less self-centered, focusing on actual student-generated work. How generous of me, I know. Lit by lamplight were the results of the flag project:
arts2

Then I posted the trig straw graphs. Highlight of the evening: I was asked actual mathematical content questions about these!
arts3

On a loop I played stop-motion videos students created for parametric graphing. As the value of t increases, the graph is created. The one being broadcast while I took this picture was constructed out of sour skittles, and shows the graph of y=tsin(t); x=tcos(t). Above the board are the only parametric motion projects that haven’t already fallen totally apart – ping-pong balls and scotch tape are not the most durable materials.
arts1

Potentially the only strictly art project I showcased were the tessellations. In math 1 we’ve been working on transformations, so translations, rotations, and reflections. This led into an examination of symmetry, both reflection and rotational. Tessellations involve both of these topics, as well as bringing in congruence, which we’ll be encountering next.

arts4

It stresses me out to think about how little time we have left this school year. This event marks the end of the third quarter, meaning that I only have 25% of the year left. That is simply absurd. I think we should have an extra couple of weeks, but maybe a little while into the summer when I’m feeling kind of bored already. Seems reasonable.

Next week we’ll be doing triangle congruence, proof by induction, a math-words task about numeral bases, and discussing exponential growth through the example of mass incarceration. If any of it is as blog-worthy as I’m planning, I’ll be here!

Leave a Reply

